23rd Australasian Finance and Banking Conference

The 23rd Australasian Finance and Banking Conference was held from 15-17 December, 2010 at the Shangri-La Hotel in Sydney. A PhD Forum was held on Tuesday 14 December 2010 at UNSW.

2010 prize winners

  • BlackRock Research Award Vijay Yadav, Portfolio Matching by Multiple-Fund Managers: Effects on Fund Performance and Flows
  • BankScope Prize Suman Banerjee and Thomas Noe, Legal-System Arbitrage and MNC Capital Structure
  • SIRCA Research Prize Renée Adams, Stephen Gray, and John Nowland, Is there a Business Case for Female Directors? Evidence from the Market Reaction to All New Director Appointments
  • Australian Securities Exchange Prize Peter MacKay and Sara Moeller, Corporate Risk Management: The Hedging Footprint

2010 PhD forum prize winners:

Prizes were awarded for the top three papers presented at the PhD Forum.

  • 1st prize: Shage Zhang, Compensation Gap Among Top Executives:Tournament Competition, Marginal Productivity Differentials, or Governance Failure?
  • 2nd prize: Sjoerd van Bekkum, Risk Incentives and Agency Problems in the U.S. Financial Sector: Examining Downside Risk from 2007 to 2010
  • 3rd prize: Huasheng Gao and Xin Deng, Do Nonmonetary Benefit Matter for Corporate Executives? Evidence from the Pay Premium for Quality of Life

Keynote speakers

  • Robert Engle, New York University
  • Harrison Hong, Princeton University
  • Lubos Pastor, University of Chicago
  • Henri Servaes, London Business School
  • Avanidhar Subrahmanyam, UCLA

Business forum

Forum topic: Global and Regional (Asia Pacific) Financial Markets and Regulation.

Guest speakers included:

  • Professor Jenny Corbett, Australia-Japan Research Centre - The Role of Banks in Transmitting the GFC in East Asia
  • Dr Guy Debelle, Assistant Governor of the Reserve Bank - Bank Funding and Capital Flows
  • Professor Robert Engle (The Nobel Laureate), New York University - Banks Systemic Risks Rankings
  • Professor Joseph Fan, Chinese University of Hong Kong - The Great Succession Challenges of Asian Business
  • Dr Ken Henry, Secretary to the Treasury - The Australian Banking System – Challenges in the Post Global Financial Crisis Environment
  • Professor Shang-Jin Wei, Columbia Business School - Pitfalls in Assessing Exchange Rate Undervaluation

Selection Committee

The Chairman of the Selection Committee is Fariborz Moshirian from UNSW.

Members of the Selection Committee include:

  • Renee Adams, University of Queensland
  • Allen Berger, University of South Carolina
  • Michael Brennan, University of California LA
  • Stijn Claessens, International Monetary Fund
  • J David Cummins, Temple University
  • Asli Demirguc, Kunt World Bank
  • Robert Faff, University of Queensland
  • Mark Flannery, University of Florida
  • Kenneth French, Dartmouth University
  • Bruce Grundy, University of Melbourne
  • Steven Kaplan, The University of Chicago
  • Andrew Karolyi, Cornell University
  • Larry H. P. Lang, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Florencio Lopez De Silanes, EDHEC Business School
  • Ike Mathur, Southern Illinois University
  • Ronald Masulis, Vanderbilt University
  • Maureen O'Hara, Cornell University
  • Jay Ritter, University of Florida
  • Richard Roll, UCLA
  • Anthony Saunders, New York University
  • Henri Servaes, London Business School
  • Andrei Shleifer, Harvard University
  • Tom Smith, Australian National University
  • Bruno Solnik, HEC School of Management
  • Avanidhar Subrahmanyam, UCLA
  • Paul Wachtel, New York University

Journal of Banking & Finance

A special issue of the Journal of Banking and Finance on “Post Global Financial Crisis: Markets, Institutions, Corporate Governance, and Regulation” will include selected papers presented at the AFBC.