24th Australasian Finance and Banking Conference

The 24th Australasian Finance and Banking Conference was held from 14-16 December, 2011 at the Shangri-La Hotel in Sydney. A PhD forum was held on 13 December 2011 at UNSW.

2011 prize winners

  • BlackRock Research Award
    Tim A. Kroencke, Felix Schindler, and Andreas Schrimpf -"International Diversification Benefits with Foreign Exchange Investment Styles"
  • BankScope Prize
    Nishant Dass, Vikram Nanda, and Qinghai Wangy "The Role of Covenants in Mitigating Conflicts of Interest Within Lending Syndicates"
  • SIRCA Research Prize
    Serkan Honeine and Peter L. Swan - "What are the Determinants of Board Performance: Skin in the Game, Composition, Diversity Size?" and Chris Single and Russell Poskitt - "Why is US dollar bond funding for international banks more expensive?"
  • Australian Securities Exchange Prize
    Shumi Akhtar, Maria Jahromi and Kose John -"Intensity of Volatility Linkages in Islamic and Conventional Markets"

2011 PhD forum prize winners

Prizes were awarded for the top three papers presented at the PhD forum.

  • 1st prize
    Oleg Chuprinin -"Information Management in Financial Markets: Implications for Stock Momentum and Volatility"
  • 2nd prize
    Francesco D’Acunto -"Ownership Structure and Firm Value: A Novel Identification"
  • 3rd prize
    Matthew Gustafson -"The Effect of Public Debt Market Access on Bank Loan Spreads: Evidence of Competitive Spillover"

Keynote Speakers

  • Professor Viral Acharya, New York University
    Topic: Guaranteed to Fail: Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and the Debacle of Mortgage Finance
  • Mr. Ric Battellino, Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia
    Topic: Recent Financial Developments
  • Professor Andrew Karolyi, Cornell University
    Topic: Are assets still priced locally, not globally?
  • Professor Richard Roll, UCLA
    Topic: Volatility, Correlation, and Spread ETFs as Factors
  • Professor Rene Stulz, Ohio State University
    Topic: Understanding bank performance during the crisis

Selection Committee

The Chairman of the Selection Committee is Fariborz Moshirian from UNSW.

Members of the Selection Committee included:

  • Renee Adams, University of Queensland
  • Allen Berger, University of South Carolina
  • Michael Brennan, University of California LA
  • Stijn Claessens, International Monetary Fund
  • J. David Cummins, Temple University
  • Asli Demirguc, Kunt World Bank
  • Robert Faff, University of Queensland
  • Mark Flannery, University of Florida
  • Kenneth French, Dartmouth University
  • Bruce Grundy, University of Melbourne
  • Steven Kaplan, The University of Chicago
  • Andrew Karolyi, Cornell University
  • Larry H. P. Lang, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Florencio Lopez De Silanes, EDHEC Business School
  • Ike Mathur, Southern Illinois University
  • Ronald Masulis, Vanderbilt University
  • Maureen O'Hara, Cornell University
  • Jay Ritter, University of Florida
  • Richard Roll, UCLA
  • Anthony Saunders, New York University
  • Henri Servaes, London Business School
  • Andrei Shleifer, Harvard University
  • Tom Smith, Australian National University
  • Bruno Solnik, HEC School of Management
  • Avanidhar Subrahmanyam, UCLA
  • Paul Wachtel, New York University

Journal of Banking & Finance

A special issue of the Journal of Banking and Finance on “Markets, Financial Stability and Governance” will include selected papers presented at the AFBC.