25th Australasian Finance and Banking Conference

The 25th Australasian Finance and Banking Conference was held 16 – 18 December 2012 at the Shangri-la Hotel, Sydney. The PhD Forum was held 15 December 2012 at the University of New South Wales.

Prize Winners

BlackRock Prize

The Investment Behavior of State Pension Plans

  • Jeffrey Brown, University of Illinois
  • Joshua Matthew Pollet, Michigan State University
  • Scott Weisbenner, University of Illinois

ASX Prize

Volatility Uncertainty, Time Decay, and Option Bid-Ask Spreads

  • PeiLin Billy Hsieh, Cornell University

Zephyr Prize

Auctions of Real Options: Security Bids, Moral Hazard, and Strategic Timing

  • Lin Cong, Stanford Graduate School of Business

Expectations of Executive Risk-Taking and Preferences: Evidence from CEO Stock Grants

  • Ingolf Dittmann, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Lars Norden, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Guangyao Zhu, Erasmus University Rotterdam

BankScope Prize

On the Regulatory Responses to the Recent Crisis: An Assessment of the Basel Market Risk Framework and the Volcker Rule

  • Gordon Alexander, University of Minnesota
  • Alexandre Baptista, George Washington University
  • Shu Yan, University of South Carolina

The Impact of Non Interest Income on Bank Risk in Australia

  • Barry Williams, Bond University
Sirca Prize

Media and Market Quality

  • Terrance Fung, City University of Hong Kong

PhD Forum Prize Winners

PhD Forum – 3rd Prize

LIBOR’s Poker: Interbank Borrowing Costs and Strategic Reporting

  • Jiakai Chen, University of California, Berkeley

PhD Forum – 2nd Prize

Auctions of Real Options: Security Bids, Moral Hazard and Strategic Timing
  • Lin William Cong, Stanford Graduate School of Business

PhD Forum – 1st Prize

Durable Matters? An Alternative Measure of Consumption Risk

  • Rui Cui, University of Chicago

Keynote Speakers

The keynote speakers for the 25th Australasian Finance and Banking Conference were:

The Greatest Carry Trade Ever? Understanding Eurozone Bank Risks

Professor Viral Acharya, New York University

Risk, Uncertainty, Monetary Policy and Asset Prices
Professor Geert Bekaert, Columbia University

The Latest Developments in Systemic Risk 
Professor Robert Engle, New York University

Mergers that Matter: The Importance of Economic Links Among Firms
Professor Jarrad Harford, University of Washington

The Euro-zone crisis: Economics, Finance and Politics
Professor Bruno Solnik, HKUST
The Implications and Costs of Basel 3
Professor Anthony Saunders, New York University

Selection Committee

The Chairman of the Selection Committee is Fariborz Moshirian from UNSW.

Members of the Selection Committee included:

  • Renee Adams, University of New South Wales
  • Allen Berger, University of South Carolina
  • Michael Brennan, University of California LA
  • Stijn Claessens, International Monetary Fund
  • J. David Cummins, Temple University
  • Asli Demirguc, Kunt World Bank
  • Robert Faff, University of Queensland
  • Mark Flannery, University of Florida
  • Kenneth French, Dartmouth University
  • Bruce Grundy, University of Melbourne
  • Steven Kaplan, The University of Chicago
  • Andrew Karolyi, Cornell University
  • Larry H. P. Lang, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Florencio Lopez De Silanes, EDHEC Business School
  • Ike Mathur, Southern Illinois University
  • Ronald Masulis, University of New South Wales
  • Maureen O'Hara, Cornell University
  • Jay Ritter, University of Florida
  • Richard Roll, UCLA
  • Anthony Saunders, New York University
  • Henri Servaes, London Business School
  • Andrei Shleifer, Harvard University
  • Tom Smith, University of Queensland
  • Bruno Solnik, HEC School of Management
  • Avanidhar Subrahmanyam, UCLA
  • Paul Wachtel, New York University

All submitted papers undergo a peer review process before being accepted for presentation at the AFBC. Full papers undergo a blind review process by a selection committee independent of the author. Conference proceedings are via SSRN.

Further enquiries

For any further information or questions please email us at bankconf@unsw.edu.au.