Scholarships & prizes

The UNSW Business School offers a wide range of scholarships to students who are thinking of applying for an undergraduate degree. The School also recognises student excellence through the prizes program.

These scholarships and prizes are made possible by the generosity of our individual and corporate donors.

The School of Risk & Actuarial, UNSW Business School awards a number of prizes for outstanding academic performance each year. You can view the current prize winners below.

Scholarship and prize winners are presented with their award by the Donor or Corporate Representative at an awards ceremony which is held in June each year. The ceremony is one of the School’s most prestigious events in the annual calendar and is attended by over 400 scholars, donors, senior staff and guests.

Business School Honours Scholarships

Up to 20 honours scholarships are awarded annually by the Business School. These scholarships provide financial support to outstanding students studying in their Honours year, in any of the disciplinary areas available within the Business School.

Finity Consulting Prize

Donated by Finity Consulting
Awarded for the best performance in the courses ACTL4001, ACTL4002, ACTL4303 or ACTL5100, ACTL5200 and ACTL5303
2018 winner: Oliver Michael Wood                                
Value: $1000

The Actuaries Institute Prize

Donated by Actuaries Institute
Awarded for the best performance in ACTL1101 Introduction to Actuarial Studies
2018 winner: Ryan Michael Sun                                    
Value: $500

Insureware Prize

Donated by Insureware
Awarded for the best performance in ACTL3003 Insurance Risk Models.
2018 winner: Johnny Chung Hin Wong                                    
Value: $1000

The E S Wolfenden Memorial Prize

Donated by William Wolfenden in memory of his grandfather who was Australia's first actuary
Awarded for the best performance in Actuarial Studies Honours Year (Coursework and Thesis)
2018 winner: Carlos Yu Qi Cheng                                                     
Value: $1000

The Willis Towers Watson Prize 

Donated by Willis Towers Watson
Awarded for the highest aggregate in ACTL3001 Actuarial Studies, ACTL3002 Life Insurance and Superannuation Models, ACTL3003 Insurance Risk Models and ACTL3004 Financial Economics for Insurance and Superannuation by a graduating student in the Bachelor of Commerce
2018 winner: Johnny Chung Hin Wong               
Value: $500

The UniSuper Prize 

Donated by UniSuper
Awarded for the best performance in ACTL3191/ECON3114 Superannuation and Retirement Benefits
2018 winner: Andrew Ma                                                      
Value: $500

The AIG Prize in Actuarial Studies 

Donated by AIG
2018 winner: Jack Dajie Jiang

The KPMG Actuarial Prize 

Donated by KPMG
2018 winner: Neil Jain