Celebrating staff achievement at the Australian School of Business

Monday, 24 May 2010  Features

The Australian School of Business staff awards recognise the outstanding contribution of academics and professional and technical staff who have excelled, going above and beyond what is expected of them.

The 2009 awards were presented this week by Richard Henry, UNSW Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic), Professor Stephen Marshall, UNSW Director of Learning and Teaching, and Professor Alec Cameron, Dean of the Australian School of Business.

Award categories included professional and technical staff excellence and teamwork, teaching excellence, teaching innovation, outstanding research supervision, facilitation and tutoring.

Professor Alec Cameron said the awards bring together all members of staff and honour those whose performance has consistently exceeded expectations. He said "This is an occasion to celebrate all professional and teaching staff and to recognise the quality of learning and teaching at the ASB reflected in the high standard of all nominees and their applications."

This year there is a new award in memory of Pat Hillary who passed away in November 2008. Pat was one of the first secretaries appointed at the newly established AGSM in 1976 and throughout more than two decades of service was respected and admired by all those with whom she came into contact.

With the generous support of Pat's family and donors, the Australian School of Business honoured the significant and enduring contribution Pat made to the School with an endowed staff award in her name.

The 2009 award winners are:

Teaching Awards

The Bill Birkett Award for Teaching ExcellenceMs ​Marion Burford, School of Marketing

The Excellence in Team Teaching Award
Team Leader: A/Prof Peter Murmann, Strategy & Entrepreneurship
Professor Emeritus Geoff Eagleson, Strategy & Entrepreneurship
Dr Shayne Gary, Strategy & Entrepreneurship
Dr Rose Trevelyan, Organisation & Management
Ms Denise Weinsies, AGSM adjunct lecturer

The ASB Excellence in Tutoring Award
Mr David Cheng, Organisation & Management

The Outstanding Research Supervision Award Professor Dubravka Cecez-Kecmanovic, Information Systems, Technology & Management

The Master of Business & Technology (MBT) Facilitator Award for Teaching Excellence
Mr Craig Tapper, Sessional instructor, MBT Program

The AGSM Teaching Excellence in a Core Course Award
Dr Kristin Rotte, School of Marketing

The AGSM Teaching Excellence in an Elective Course Award
Dr Jaco Lok, Organisation and Management

The AGSM Marcus Cohen Teaching Excellence Award for Sessional Instructor
Mr Craig Tapper, Sessional instructor, AGSM Programs

The AGSM Executive Programs Outstanding Adjunct & Facilitator Awards
Mr Humphrey Armstrong, Facilitator, AGSM Executive Programs
Professor Doug Stace, Visiting Faculty, AGSM Executive Programs Accounting

Dean's Commendation Certificates
Mr David Colwell, Banking & Finance
Ms Mandy Cheng, School of Accounting
Ms Kerry Humphreys, School of Accounting

Professional/Technical Staff Awards

The 2010 Pat Hillary Staff Achievement Award for Excellence
Peter McGuinn (Educational Development Unit)

The 2010 Pat Hillary Staff Achievement Award for Excellent Teamwork/Collegiality
Alumni & Community Partnerships (Jane Miller, Jennifer Alvars, Laura Maynard, Di Ramsay, Lenny Chandra, Heidi Plucknett, Kelly Miles, Keri Bell)

The 2010 ASB Staff Achievement Award for Teamwork/Collegiality
Esther Lefas (Centre for Social Impact)

The 2010 ASB Staff Achievement Award for Staff Innovation
The ASB Student Centre Team (Andrew Knight, Rebecca Archer, Christine Kelley, Lisa Ho, Anna Trivedi, Anne MacMillan, Samantha Drysdale, Jane Tjia, Michelle O'Brien, Megan Dunne, Jayde Riddell)