Student achievements celebrated at ASB awards ceremony

Thursday, 5 June 2014  Features

​Top performing undergraduate and postgraduate students from the Australian School of Business received scholarships and prizes on June 4 at the annual School awards ceremony.

ASB Dean, Professor Geoffrey Garrett presented prizes and scholarships to some 300 students to the value of over $1.9 million dollars. Prizes and scholarships are made possible by generous corporate and individual donors, many of whom are ASB graduates.

The evening’s Master of Ceremonies was BCom (international) student, Caroline Yun who was the recipient of The Mattick Scholarship in Business in 2012.

Professor Julie Cogin, Deputy Dean and Director, AGSM presented AGSM students with their awards including the AGSM MBA Community Spirit Scholarship to eight students in recognition of their significant community contribution, strong leadership skills and global perspective.

Other scholarships support academically talented students with financial hardship, while many prizes recognise the top performing student in a particular course.

Guest speaker Tanya Branwhite (BCom ’85) gave a candid and inspiring speech to students that shared lessons from her own career journey.  The senior Macquarie Group executive discussed the importance of resilience and the role of both passion and compassion in shaping a career in line with your values.

​Students shared the evening with a 300 strong audience of family, donors and friends.