Top students recognised at Australian School of Business Awards Ceremony

Friday, 17 June 2011  Features

217 Prizes and Scholarships were awarded at the annual Australian School of Business Awards Ceremony on June 8, 2011. This prestigious event acknowledges the highest achieving students of the School's 12,000 strong student body.

The ceremony brought together the entire School community including students from undergraduate, postgraduate, (including AGSM MBA) and research programs as well as their family and friends.

Scholarships and prizes are funded by generous individual donors (many of whom are Australian School of Business alumni) as well as key sponsors, including major recruiters and employers of the School's graduates. This year's Prizes and Scholarships amount to $1.8 million dollars.

Distinguished guest speaker, Ross Grant, Chairman of Grant Samuel Group gave an inspiring speech about the importance of recognising academic achievements. "We accept it as normal to celebrate sporting success but we are reluctant to recognise intellectual excellence," Mr Grant said.

"Tonight's award winners are among the elite in our community – if they are conscious of that they should not be embarrassed by it. However this privileged position carries a responsibility to give back to the community and the community is entitled to expect that you fulfil your potential."

Mr Grant said it was his accounting lecturer at UNSW who found him his first job ​in investment banking by recommending him to Tony Berg, then Managing Director of Hill Samuel Australia. Mr Berg was until recently Chairman of the Australian School of Business Advisory Council and fittingly, Mr Grant is now himself an Alumni Leader of the School.

Presenting students with their awards, Mark Uncles, Deputy Dean (Faculty) of the Australian School of Business thanked the School's dedicated teaching staff who ensure our business students are the best educated in Australia.

The evening's Master of Ceremonies was Raju Jaiswal, a Bachelor of Commerce (International) student who in 2010 was awarded the Alumni Leaders Scholarship.

The full list of 2011 winners has been published.