Will the budget deliver on burden sharing?

Tuesday, 14 May 2013  Features

The 2013 Federal Budget will be one of the most significant of recent years. The government has acknowledged the budget will be in deficit, has confirmed carbon price-related tax cuts and the increase to family payments will be axed as it tries to plug the revenue hole. So will the budget deliver on its stated aim of burden sharing?

Academics from the Australian School of Business at UNSW will give their independent analysis in a live audio podcast round table on Wednesday morning, with their reaction to key budget measures.

Listen live: 9am Wednesday 15 May 
Listen later: recorded podcast posted by 11am

The discussion will be hosted by Associate Professor Dale Boccabella."The Prime Minister says she wants the budget to share the burden across all income levels. This will be challenging and it will be hard to achieve a fair budget where everyone shares all the pain."

"We will give the so-called 'burden sharing' an independent and thorough analysis in out podcast, along with other key budget measures including identifying who is most affected by the budget measures. We will assess the impact on superannuation and identify areas the government has failed to address."

Journalists may take any part of the podcast for quotes, ask questions during the podcast via the live stream comment facility, or contact the academics for interviews later in the day.

Associate Professor Dale Boccabella
Can discuss taxation of trusts, fringe benefits, capital gains tax and corporate tax.
Contact: 02 9385 3365 Home: 02 9874 2539 d.boccabella@unsw.edu.au

Senior Lecturer Helen Hodgson
Can discuss tax transfer systems, tax reform and superannuation.
Contact: 02 9385 9560 h.hodgson@unsw.edu.au

Senior Lecturer Fiona Martin
Can analyse tax reform and native title, plus taxation of charities.
Contact: 02 9385 9558 f.martin@unsw.edu.au

Media contacts:
Julian Lorkin: 02 9385 1574 0405 805 365 j.lorkin@unsw.edu.au
Sarah Lightfoot: 02 9385 9693 0478 491948 s.lightfoot@unsw.edu.au
Denise Knight (UNSW Media): 02 9385 2864 0405 207 685 d.knight@unsw.edu.au

will-the-budget-deliver-on-burden-sharing