Nigel Poole

Faculty Executive Director

About Nigel

Nigel Poole, a former CSIRO executive and commercial manager, is the UNSW Business School Faculty Executive Director.

As a member of the Senior Management Team, Nigel oversees the critical operations and functions that drive the Business School and the day-to-day delivery of activities that serve the needs of students, academic staff and the University. He is responsible for driving the implementation of strategy in the Business School, as well as UNSW’s ambitious Strategy 2025.

Nigel has had a diverse career, working in New Zealand, the UK and Australia and has an impressive track record of delivering results in large organisations where he has led acquisitions, turnarounds, spin-outs and restructures.

Nigel has championed initiatives for future services in research and education. He is a director of the US$1bn Giant Magellan Telescope Organisation project which connects Australia with top-tier universities in the US and Korea and Brazil. He was a director of AARNet, the company that connects Australian universities and researchers to the world through its advance fibre-optic cable network.

After commencing as an investment banker working in financial markets, he worked in management consulting with McKinsey & Company, and with the implementation of shared services at Goodman Fielder, CSIRO and the National Measurement Institute. He managed large functional teams delivering business services to CSIRO over the past decade.

During this time he also led the commercialisation of CSIRO-developed technology, including the licence for its WiFi (wireless LAN) technology, which has generated hundreds of millions of dollars to fund Australian science, and for which he and his team received the CSIRO Chairman’s Medal.

He is a member of the Advisory Council of the Science and Industry Endowment Fund providing grants for the next generation of promising technology.

He holds degrees in Law and Economics from the University of Otago and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.