John Piggott AO

Scientia Professor, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing Research (CEPAR)

School of Economics - PhD and MSc, University of London | Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia (FASSA) | BA, University of Sydney


Retirement and pension economics and finance.

  • Bio
  • Publications & Research
  • Grants
  • Engagement

About John

John Piggott AO FASSA is Director of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing Research (CEPAR) at the University of New South Wales, where he is Scientia Professor of Economics.

A former Australian Professorial Fellow, he has published widely on issues in retirement and pension economics and finance, and in public finance more generally; his research has appeared in leading international economics and actuarial academic journals.

Internationally, Professor Piggott worked with the Japanese government for nearly a decade from 1999 on pension and population ageing issues. In 2004, he was tasked with evaluating World Bank assistance on pension reform in the Asian region for the Bank's Operations Evaluation Department. He has been Visiting Professor at Zhejiang University in China since 2007, and from 2008-2010 was Visiting Scholar at the Wharton School of Business. In 2018, he was awarded a Rockefeller Residency to undertake research into ageing and inequality in Asia. Professor Piggott was appointed co-chair of the Think20 (T20) Task Force on Aging Population during Japan’s G20 Presidency in 2019, and is a Commissioner on the US National Academy of Medicine’s International Commission on Creating a Global Roadmap for Healthy Longevity.

At a national level, he was a member of both the Henry Tax Review Panel (2008-2009) and the Australian Ministerial Superannuation Advisory Committee (2007-2011). Scientia Professor Piggott is appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the 2020 Australia Day Honours List for his distinguished service to education, to population ageing research and to public finance policy development.