Australian Journal of Management (AJM)

The Australian Journal of Management is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes research in accounting, applied economics, finance, industrial relations, political science, psychology, statistics, and other disciplines, provided the application is to management.

We also publish research in areas such as marketing, corporate strategy, operations management, organisation development, decision analysis, and other problem-focused paradigms. In the Australian Research Council's Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative 2012 quality rating AJM is ranked as a tier A journal.


The Australian Journal of Management was founded at the fledgling AGSM @ UNSW Business School in 1976. The foundation editor was Ray Ball, followed by Chris Adam, John Conybeare, the late Vic Taylor, Phillip Yetton, John Roberts, and Robert Marks, Baljit Sidhu and Jane Baxter.

  • Editor in Chief: Andrew Jackson
  • Publication frequency: 4 issues a year
  • Publisher: SAGE Publications
  •  2-Year Impact Factor: 1.183
    Ranking: Business 122 of 147 
    Management 179 of 217
    5-Year Impact Factor: 1.600

Please contact Sussanne Nottage for Initial enquiries about publishing in the Australian Journal of Management.

Call for Papers 

E. Yetton Prize

The E. Yetton Prize was inaugurated in December 1994 to celebrate the article published in the journal in the previous year that is of exceptional quality and is likely to have a substantial impact in the field of management research.

The winning paper prize for the year 2018 has been awarded to:

2018 Winner
Ron Bird, Doug Foster, Jack Gray, Adrian M Raftery, Susan Thorp and Danny Yeung.
Who starts a self-managed superannuation fund and why?,
Australian Journal of Management, V43(3), pp. 476-492

2018 Runner-up
Simon Torp and Bo Bernhard Nielsen,
Psychological ownership and financial firm performance,
Australian Journal of Management, V43(3), pp. 201-223

Australian Journal of Management latest issue 

May 2020
Australian Journal of Management