Organisational Design

This network develops and applies methods to understand how best to design organisations to improve incentives, information flows, strategy with competitors, and building relations with suppliers and customers.

Network Members

Richard Holden | Network Leader, AGSM Scholar, Professor and ARC Future Fellow, School of Economics

Richard Holden is Professor of Economics at UNSW Business School and an Australian Research Council Future Fellow from 2013-2017. Prior to that he was on the faculty at the University of Chicago and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He received a PhD from Harvard University in 2006, where he was a Frank Knox Scholar. His research focuses on contract theory, law and economics, and political ​ec​o​nomy. He has written on topics including: political districting, the boundary of the firm, incentives in organizations, mechanism design, and voting rules.

Dr Keiichi Kawai | Lecturer, External Seminar Coordinator, School of Economics

Carlos Pimienta | Associate Professor, School of Economics

Gabriele Gratton | Senior Lecturer, Postgraduate Research Coordinator, School of Economics

Arghya Ghosh | Head of School, Professor, School of Economics

Arghya's research is primarily in two areas: industrial organization and international trade. Currently Arghya is investigating the formation of partial equity ownership arrangements and incentives and welfare consequences of collaboration among competitors. On the trade front, Arghya's recent research examines the possible link between trade and expropriation in presence of imperfect property rights. His work has appeared in top journals including RAND Journal of Economics and Economic Theory among others.

Dr Juan Carlos Carbajal | Senior Lecturer, Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator, School of Economics

​Juan Carlos Carbajal is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Economics at UNSW Business School. His research expertise is in market design, mechanism design, behavioural economics, and contract theory. Juan Carlos publishes in top Economics journals, including the Journal of Economic Theory, Theoretical Economics, and Games and Economic Behavior. He held an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award from 2012 to 2014.

Alberto Motta | Associate Professor, Visitor Program Coordinator, School of Economics

​Alberto's research focuses on developing theoretical models and applying econometric methods in order to study the impact of collusion on information flows. He investigates the types and features of organizational design that are most effective. His current work focuses on designing and evaluating organizational solutions for microfinance institutions, for-profit and not-for-profit firms, enforcement agencies and media outlets.​​​

Dr Anton Kolotilin | Senior Lecturer and ARC DECRA Fellow, School of Economics

​Anton Kolotilin is a Senior Lecturer in Economics at UNSW Sydney and ARC DECRA Research Fellow for 2016-2019. He received his PhD in Economics from MIT in 2012. His primary research field is microeconomic theory, with a particular interest in persuasion.

Dr Hongyi Li | Lecturer, School of Economics

Dr Pei-Cheng Yu | Lecturer, School of Economics

Dr Jiangtao Li | Lecturer, School of Economics

Highlight achievements

  • Eleven network members have a total of 30 ABDC A*/FT50 publications from 2015-2017, including The Quarterly Journal of Economics, Journal of Law and Economics, Journal of Development Economics, Games and Economic Behavior, and Journal of Economic Theory.
  • ARC Fellowships: Future Fellow (Holden), DECRA (Carbajal, Kolotilin, and Kawai.)
  • Holden is Editor of the Journal of Law and Economics
  • Holden received the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia Early Career Research Award for best scholar in Economics, Accounting, Statistics, Economic History, Marketing in 2013 and 2014 (only person ever to win twice)
  • Ghosh received the Hind Rattan (Jewel of India) award in 2013 for outstanding contribution in Economics
  • ARC grant awards totalling more than $2 million (Holden, Ghosh, Carbajal, Pimienta, Kolotilin, and Kawai) from 2015-2017